MenuMenu Image

UK Law Announces Lineup for Spring Visiting Speaker Series

February 27, 2018

Faculty members at the University of Kentucky College of Law will engage with scholars from other schools across the nation this spring by continuing to host two visiting speaker series: the Randall-Park Distinguished Speaker and Faculty Brownbag Speaker.

Both series bring distinguished legal scholars to UK Law to present and discuss their research and ideas, providing important opportunities for junior scholars to share their research. Both series also increase the profile of the college by introducing UK Law faculty to senior scholars from other schools.

Brian L. Frye, Associate Professor of Law, serves as the chair of the Visiting Speakers Committee. In this role, he coordinates the scheduling of visiting speakers and facilitates their visits. He works with other members of the committee and with the entire UK Law faculty to identify prominent scholars to invite to the college. During the spring semester, the following notable scholars will present their research at UK Law:

Thursday, February 1
Jennifer Bennett Shinall, Vanderbilt Law School

Monday, February 19
Andrew Wright, Savannah Law School

Tuesday, February 27
Zach Buck, University of Tennessee College of Law

Wednesday, March 7
Kathryn Abrams, University of California Berkeley School of Law

Thursday, March 8
Brian Soucek, University of California Davis School of Law

Monday, March 19
Jonathan Rohr, University of Tennessee College of Law

Wednesday, March 28
Christopher Jon Sprigman, NYU School of Law

Friday, March 30
Ramsi Woodcock, Georgia State University J. Mack Robinson College of Business

Monday, April 9
Carla L. Reyes, Stetson University College of Law

Thursday, April 12
J. Janewa Osei-Tutu, Florida International University College of Law

Friday, April 20
D. Theodore Rave, University of Houston Law Center

Tuesday, April 24
Gregory H. Shill, University of Iowa College of Law

Thursday, May 3
Camilla Hrdy, The University of Akron School of Law

All visiting speaker presentations will take place at noon on the designated day unless otherwise noted. The location of each presentation will be posted on the UK College of Law event calendar at All events are free and open to the public.