Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Please join the University of Kentucky J. David Rosenberg College of Law and the Lyman T. Johnson Alumni Constituency Group for Pioneers forProgress on Thursday, April 11, 2024.

We are holding a series of events, starting with a lunch panel of law alumni, including Debra Merchant (Class of '84), John Merchant (Class of '82), and David Olinger (Class of '76), in Room 297 in the law building. UK Rosenberg Law Senior Assistant Dean Danny Murphy (Class of '98) will moderate as the panelists share stories about navigating law school and careers.

On Thursday afternoon, we'll convene at the G. Chad Perry III Grand Courtroom for a welcome reception at 5 p.m., co-hosted by the UK Alumni Association. We will unveil the law school's Pioneers for Progress wall at 6 p.m.

Finally, the Lyman T. Johnson Alumni Constituency Group will present the evening panel, discussing the impact of the Lyman T. Johnson court case, the significance of his challenge, and what it has meant for the University of Kentucky's past, present, and future. The moderator, Judge Brian Edwards (Class of '96) and Judge Melissa Murphy (Class of '01) are both law alumni. Two additional panelists are UK alumnus Dr. Ricky Jones and Dr. Derrick White, UK professor of history and African American and Africana Studies.

Registration is encouraged at


Pioneers for Progress invitation